Home

Your vision in the skies above Berlin

30,000 messages will float at the Straße des 17. Juni in Berlin from 4 until  10 November 2019. You can be a part of this!

What are your messages, wishes and hopes, that concern you today? You can find our promotion stands all over Berlin and at certain special events, where you can write your visions, wishes and ideas on your personal message ribbon.

Here’s where you can find us next:

Thu, 19 September 2019
Alexanderplatz, 12pm–8pm
East Side Gallery, 12pm–8pm
Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer, Bernauer Straße, 10am–6pm

Fri, 20 September 2019
Alexanderplatz, 12pm–8pm
East Side Gallery, 12pm–8pm
Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer, Bernauer Straße, 10am–6pm

4 — 10
November
2019

30th Anniversary of the Peaceful Revolution — Fall of the Wall

A week of festivities in Berlin to mark the 30th anniversary of the Peaceful Revolution and the fall of the Wall from 4 – 10 November 2019

The Berlin Festival Week from 4 – 10 November marks the 30th anniversary of the Peaceful Revolution and the fall of the Berlin Wall: the capital city will be transformed into a large open-air exhibition and event location. In over one hundred events at seven original sites of the Peaceful Revolution, visitors are invited to learn, remember, debate and celebrate.

At these seven locations, which to this day remain inseparably linked to the Peaceful Revolution and the fall of the Wall, Berlin will be transformed into an open-air stage:

7 Days – 7 Locations

For seven days over the course of the festival week, the story of the Peaceful Revolution and the fall of the Wall will be brought to life at the places where it unfolded: These sites commemorate key events in the overthrow of the SED regime, the courage of those who opposed the dictatorship, and the dawn of a new and democratic era.

From the processes that led to the formation of the GDR opposition – explored in depth at Gethsemane Church – to the largest protest demonstration on 4 November 1989 on Alexanderplatz, to the scenes of joy at the Brandenburg Gate following the opening of the Wall. On Kurfürstendamm the festival will celebrate the first encounters between West and East Berliners. Elsewhere, we will commemorate the occupation of the Stasi headquarters in Lichtenberg on 15 January 1990, which finally deprived the SED of its most important instrument of power, and – in what was probably the greatest success of the Peaceful Revolution – the first free elections and the subsequent establishment of the first freely-elected parliament in GDR history, which will be examined on Schlossplatz, now the site of the Humboldt Forum. At the iconic East Side Gallery, the festival explores the symbolic act of cultural appropriation.

Large-scale 3D video projections bring the past to life

These locations and their distinctive buildings will be illuminated in a very special manner during the festival week. Large-scale 3D video projections composed of historical pictures, animations and sound effects will reproduce the atmosphere of each site and the mood of the people at the time, inviting viewers to engage with past by recounting the stories that unfolded at each location. On each day of the festival week, six of the seven historical locations will be illuminated and brought to life in a multimedia show from dusk until late into the night. On Alexanderplatz, for example, the wishes, hopes and demands of the hundreds of thousands of demonstrators who boldly defied the SED leadership there on 4 November 1989 can be experienced anew. At the Humboldt Forum, the historical façade of the former parliamentary building – the Palast der Republik – will be visible again, and the important stages and events on the road to a democratic GDR will be illuminated.

The Festival Programme

The festival week welcomes visitors with a diverse programme of over one hundred events across all seven locations and seven days. The programme includes numerous concerts in different genres, such as Mauern werden einstürzen by Patti Smith and Tony Shanahan in the Gethsemane Church. Both will perform the programme Erinnerung one day before in  the Pierre Boulez Saal. Other highlights include performances by Die Seilschaft and the Bolschewistische Kurkapelle Schwarz-Rot. Plays such as Krokodil im Nacken, a staging of the Klaus Kordon book for young people and adults, and Die Schwäne vom Schlachthof at the Maxim Gorki Theatre also feature in the festival’s wide-ranging theatre programme.

And on top of all this: a host of exciting workshops, film screenings, readings, talks with contemporary witnesses and panel discussions with journalists, historians and politicians, as well as tours of the city’s history – a programme for a story that is as varied and diverse as the voices telling it. The full programme will soon be available in a calendar of events on this website.

The Exhibitions

Open-air exhibitions at each of the seven locations use text and images to explore the historical backgrounds of the events of 1989/90. Over the course of the festival week visitors can immerse themselves in the events of that time at the original sites. The recollections of contemporary witnesses will render the exhibition’s narrative even more palpable: Their stories were collected and curated in an extensive interview project, and are featured in the exhibitions in the form of quotes and listening stations. Spread across the city, the exhibitions reflect both the relationships between each of the sites and the diversity of topics: from local events to global and European contexts, from the long history of resistance to the Communist dictatorships to the role of the Western media in the fall of the Wall, from the many different ruptures and transformations of the 1990s to the perspectives of immigrants.

The Evening of 9 November

The evening of the 30th anniversary of the fall of the Wall will be celebrated with a large stage show at the Brandenburg Gate: The Staatskapelle Berlin, conducted by Daniel Barenboim, will open the show, which will also feature people involved in the Peaceful Revolution, contemporary witnesses, musicians, and performers alongside people who take a stand and inspire courage today. DJ WestBam will then ring in the Berliner Clubcommission’s European Club Night, with dance parties in 27 clubs across Berlin.

A Festival for Everyone!

The festival week is a platform for cooperation and participation. A calendar of events will be hosted on this website from September 2019, providing an overview of the many events also taking place in Berlin outside the festival week. Museums, memorials, associations, educational institutes, initiatives and artists’ groups are all invited to take part.

“Your vision in the skies above Berlin”

During the Peaceful Revolution, hundreds of thousands of people raised their voices and contributed to the fall of the Wall. In reminiscence of the banners carried during the demonstrations of the Peaceful Revolution, the people of Berlin and visitors to the city are invited to share their own messages, wishes and hopes for the future, as well as their memories of the past. 30,000 messages will be incorporated into a large art installation, a so-called Skynet, created by Patrick Shearn of Poetic Kinetics, which will float, almost weightlessly, at the Brandenburg Gate for the duration of the festival week.

About Patrick Shearn, Poetic Kinetics
Patrick Shearn is renowned internationally for his impressive, larger-than-life kinetic sculptures, which he has installed in different places all over the world ever since his début in Los Angeles. The art installation at the Brandenburg Gate is the latest kinetic installation in his Skynet series, which trace the natural movements of the wind.

Everybody has the opportunity until the end of September to write something on his or her own ribbon. Watch this website to find out where you can take part. Messages can also be submitted online. [Link zum Generator]

The Wall in 3D: MauAR

The augmented reality app MauAR visualizes the division of Berlin along the Wall from 1961 to 1989. In a world first, the app enables users to experience the Berlin Wall along its roughly 160-kilometre length as a true-to-the-original 3D model. Users can switch between four moments in history – 1961, 1969, 1981 and 1989 – to see how the Wall shaped the cityscape over three decades, and how its security facilities and barrier systems evolved in the course of almost thirty years to form a deadly border system.

Here’s how it works: If you open the MauAR app at a place where the Berlin Wall once stood, a full-size movable 3D model of the Wall will appear on your smartphone or tablet. Viewers can look at the virtual Berlin Wall from all perspectives and angles. Five episodes tell the story of how the Berlin Wall changed between 1961 and 1989, using animations, pictures, videos, texts, sounds and music. Two fictional characters featured in the episodes describe their experiences from this time, one from an East Berlin perspective, the other from the West.

To mark the festival week “30th Anniversary of the Peaceful Revolution – Fall of the Wall”, five special episodes have been created in cooperation with Kulturprojekte Berlin, which will describe the historical events of the Peaceful Revolution at the original sites during the festival week. At Alexanderplatz, for example, users can join the demonstration of 4 November 1989 as virtual participants. MauAR is free to download at www.mauar.berlin.

Done with Courage – The Film Project

Courage, the fall of the Wall, walls today: What do schoolchildren in Berlin think about these topics? Short films made by children and young people will be presented on the website www.mauerfall30.berlinand shown during the festival week.

Ihre Vision im Himmel über Berlin

30.000 Botschaften werden zu einer großen Kunstinstallation, die während der Festivalwoche scheinbar schwerelos am Brandenburger Tor schwebt.

Was sind Ihre Botschaften, Wünsche, Hoffnungen? Werden Sie mit Ihrer Stimme Teil der Kunstinstallation.

4. — 10.
November
2019

30 Jahre Friedliche Revolution — Mauerfall

Die Berliner Festivalwoche zum 30. Jubiläum der Friedlichen Revolution und des Mauerfalls vom 4. bis 10. November 2019

Die Berliner Festivalwoche vom 4. bis 10. November widmet sich dem 30. Jubiläum der Friedlichen Revolution und des Mauerfalls: Die Hauptstadt wird zu einem großen Open-Air-Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsgelände. Bei über hundert Veranstaltungen an sieben Originalschauplätzen der Friedlichen Revolution sind alle Besucher*innen dazu eingeladen, sich zu informieren, sich zu erinnern, mit anderen Menschen ins Gespräch zu kommen und zu feiern.

Berlin verwandelt sich an diesen sieben Orten, die gestern wie heute unzertrennbar mit der Friedlichen Revolution und dem Mauerfall verbunden sind, in eine Bühne unter freiem Himmel:

7 Tage – 7 Orte

Die Festivalwoche macht an sieben Tagen die Geschichte der Friedlichen Revolution und des Mauerfalls dort erlebbar, wo sie stattgefunden hat: Diese Orte erinnern an Schlüsselereignisse beim Sturz des SED-Regimes, an die Courage der Menschen, die sich gegen die Diktatur stellten sowie an den demokratischen Aufbruch in eine neue Zeit.

Von den Formierungsprozessen der DDR-Opposition, die an der Gethsemanekirche im Fokus stehen, über die größte Protestdemonstration in der DDR am 4. November 1989 auf dem Alexanderplatz, bis zu den Freudenszenen der Maueröffnung am Brandenburger Tor. Dazu gehören genauso die ersten Begegnungen von West- und Ost-Berliner*innen am Kurfürstendamm. Der Bogen spannt sich über die Besetzung der Stasi-Zentrale in Lichtenberg am 15. Januar 1990, durch die der SED endgültig ihre wichtigste Machtstütze genommen wurde, bis zum wohl größten Erfolg der Friedlichen Revolution, den ersten freien Wahlen und der anschließenden Konstituierung des ersten frei gewählten Parlaments der DDR-Geschichte, der am Schlossplatz, dem heutigen Standort des Humboldt Forums, in den Blick genommen wird. Die East Side Gallery steht schließlich für den symbolträchtigen Akt der kulturellen Aneignung.

Großflächige 3D-Videoprojektion inszenieren die Orte

Diese Orte und deren markante Gebäude werden während der Festivalwoche auf besondere Weise inszeniert. Großflächige 3D-Videoprojektionen aus historischen Bildern, Animationen und Sound-Effekten reproduzieren die Atmosphäre der jeweiligen Orte und die Stimmung der Menschen von damals und erzählen Geschichte und Geschichten dort, wo sie geschahen. Sechs der sieben Originalschauplätze werden an jedem Tag der Festivalwoche nach Anbruch der Dunkelheit bis spät in die Nacht multimedial inszeniert und erfahrbar gemacht. So werden beispielsweise auf dem Alexanderplatz die Wünsche, Hoffnungen und Forderungen hunderttausender Demonstrant*innen erlebbar, die hier am 4. November 1989 selbstbewusst der SED-Führung die Stirn boten. Am Humboldt Forum wird die historische Fassade des ehemaligen Palasts der Republik wieder sichtbar und die wichtigen Stationen und Ereignisse auf dem Weg zu einer demokratischen DDR beleuchtet.

Das Festivalprogramm

Über den gesamten Festivalzeitraum werden alle sieben Orte an sieben Tagen mit einem abwechslungsreichen Programm aus weit über einhundert Veranstaltungen gestaltet. Dazu zählen zahlreiche Konzerte verschiedener Genres, etwa „Mauern werden einstürzen“ von Patti Smith und Tony Shanahan in der Gethsemanekirche, die bereits einen Tag zuvor mit ihrem Programm „Erinnerung“ im Pierre Boulez Saal auftreten. Weitere Konzerte spielen etwa Die Seilschaft oder die Bolschewistische Kurkapelle Schwarz-Rot. Theaterstücke wie „Krokodil im Nacken“, eine Inszenierung für Jugendliche und Erwachsene nach dem Buch von Klaus Kordon, oder „Die Schwäne vom Schlachthof“, eine Kooperationsveranstaltung mit dem Maxim Gorki Theater, sind ebenfalls zu sehen.

Darüber hinaus: Viele spannende Workshops, Filmreihen, Lesungen, Zeitzeug*innengespräche und Diskussionen mit Journalist*innen, Historiker*innen und Politiker*innen sowie Führungen durch die Stadtgeschichte — ein Programm für eine Geschichte, so vielfältig wie die Stimmen, die sie erzählen. Im weiteren Verlauf finden Sie auf dieser Website das vollständige Programm in einem umfangreichen Veranstaltungskalender.

Die Ausstellungen

Open-Air-Ausstellungen nehmen an den sieben Orten die geschichtlichen Hintergründe der Ereignisse von 1989/90 in den Blick und stellen sie in Texten und Bildern dar. An den Originalschauplätzen können alle Besucher*innen über den gesamten Festivalzeitraum in die Geschichte von damals eintauchen. Greifbar wird dies durch die Berichte von Zeitzeug*innen: In einem umfangreichen Interviewprojekt wurden ihre Geschichten gesammelt und aufbereitet, um in Form von Zitaten und Hörstationen eine Vielfalt an Stimmen zu Wort kommen zu lassen. Über die Stadt verteilt entsteht so eine Ausstellung, die alle Orte miteinander in Beziehung setzt und die Vielfältigkeit der Themen widerspiegelt: vom Geschehen vor Ort bis zu den welt- und europapolitischen Kontexten, von der langen Geschichte des Widerstands gegen die kommunistischen Diktaturen bis zur Rolle der Westmedien beim Mauerfall, von den vielfältigen Brüchen und Transformationen der 1990er-Jahre bis zu migrantischen Perspektiven.

Der Abend des 9. November

Der Abend des 30. Jahrestags des Mauerfalls wird mit einer großen Bühnenshow am Brandenburger Tor gefeiert: Die Staatskapelle unter der Leitung von Daniel Barenboim eröffnet das Programm, das durch Akteur*innen der Friedlichen Revolution, Zeitzeug*innen, Musiker*innen, Performer*innen und Menschen, die auch heute Haltung zeigen und Mut machen, gestaltet wird. WestBam leitet am Brandenburger Tor in die Europäische Clubnacht der Berliner Clubcommission über, die in 27 Clubs in ganz Berlin gefeiert wird.

Eine Festivalwoche zum Mitmachen

Die Festivalwoche ist eine Plattform des Miteinanders und des Mitmachens. Ab September 2019 findet sich auf dieser Website ein zentraler Veranstaltungskalender, der einen Überblick über die vielfältigen Angebote in Berlin außerhalb der Festivalwoche gibt. Museen, Gedenkstätten, Vereine, Bildungseinrichtungen, Initiativen und Künstler*innengruppen sind eingeladen, daran mitzuwirken.

„Ihre Vision im Himmel über Berlin“

Hunderttausende haben während der Friedlichen Revolution mutig ihre Stimme erhoben und zum Fall der Mauer beigetragen. In Anlehnung an die Transparente, die bei den Demonstrationen der Friedlichen Revolution getragen wurden, sind alle Berliner*innen und Gäste dazu eingeladen, ihre eigenen Botschaften, Wünsche und Hoffnungen für die Zukunft oder auch ihre Erinnerungen an die Vergangenheit zu teilen. 30.000 Botschaften werden zu einer großen Kunstinstallation, einem sogenannten Skynet von Patrick Shearn, Poetic Kinetics, das während der Festivalwoche scheinbar schwerelos am Brandenburger Tor schwebt.

Über Patrick Shearn, Poetic Kinetics
Patrick Shearn ist international bekannt für seine eindrucksvollen, überlebensgroßen kinetischen Skulpturen, die er nach seinem Debüt in Los Angeles in den USA und in verschiedenen Orten der Welt installiert hat. Die Kunstinstallation am Brandenburger Tor ist die aktuellste kinetische Installation seiner Skynet-Serie, die die natürlichen Bewegungen des Windes nachvollziehen.

 

Bis Ende September kann jede*r an mehreren Stationen in Berlin sein bzw. ihr Band beschriften. Wo genau, steht in Kürze auf dieser Website. Außerdem können die Botschaften online eingereicht werden.

Die Mauer in 3D: MauAR

Die App MauAR visualisiert die Teilungsgeschichte an der Berliner Mauer von 1961 bis 1989 per Augmented Reality. Erstmalig werden so die rund 160 Kilometer des Mauerverlaufs als originalgetreues 3D-Modell virtuell in Augmented Reality dargestellt. An drei exemplarischen Zeitpunkten – 1961, 1971 und 1981 – lässt sich nachvollziehen, wie die Mauer das Stadtbild über drei Jahrzehnte prägte und wie sie sich samt der Sperranlagen über die Jahrzehnte zu einem lebensgefährlichen Grenzsperrsystem entwickelte.

Und so funktioniert es: Öffnet man MauAR an einem Ort, wo einst die Berliner Mauer stand, erscheint ein bewegliches 3D-Modell der Mauer in Originalgröße auf dem Smartphone oder Tablet. Die Betrachter*innen können sich die virtuelle Berliner Mauer aus allen Perspektiven und Winkeln ansehen. In fünf Episoden wird anhand von Animationen, Bildern, Videos, Texten, Geräuschen und Musik erzählt, wie sich die Berliner Mauer zwischen 1961 und 1989 verändert hat. Dabei schildern zwei fiktionale Charaktere ihre Erlebnisse aus dieser Zeit, der eine aus der Ost-, die andere aus der Westperspektive.

Anlässlich der Festivalwoche „30 Jahre Friedliche Revolution – Mauerfall“ entstehen in Kooperation mit Kulturprojekte Berlin fünf Sonder-Episoden, die in der Festivalwoche an den Originalschauplätzen der Friedlichen Revolution die historischen Geschehnisse aufgreifen und nacherzählen. So kann man beispielsweise auf dem Alexanderplatz an der Demonstration vom 4. November 1989 virtuell teilnehmen. MauAR gibt es kostenlos zum Download unter www.mauar.berlin.

Aus Mut gemacht – Das Filmprojekt

Mut, Mauerfall, Mauern heute: Was ist die Meinung von Berliner Schüler*innen zu diesem Thema? Kurzfilme, die Kinder und Jugendliche selbst gedreht haben, werden auf der Website www.mauerfall30.berlin und im Rahmen der Festivalwoche präsentiert.